Thursday | 08 Jul 2021

Euro front-runners join World Championship fray for Nürburgring double-header

We get it – it’s all about the Euros right now. So in keeping with that theme, it is perhaps appropriate that the entry list for rounds two and three of the 2021 FIA World Rallycross Championship campaign at the Nürburgring (31 July – 1 August) should feature two of our own Euro front-runners, setting the scene for an action-packed German double-header.

The Nürburgring’s eagerly-anticipated World RX debut will follow hot on the heels of what is expected to be a pulsating Catalunya curtain-raiser later this month. What’s more, with double points on offer over the course of the two days and all drivers needing to get to grips with a new track, an intense and entertaining battle awaits.

The entry list is headlined by World Champions Johan Kristoffersson (KYB EKS JC) and Timmy Hansen (Hansen World RX Team), as well as fellow event-winners Niclas Grönholm (GRX-SET World RX Team) and Kevin Hansen (Hansen World RX Team).

Elsewhere in the field, the likes of Kevin Abbring (Unkorrupted), Krisztián Szabó (GRX-SET World RX Team) and the ever-improving Enzo Ide (KYB EKS JC) will similarly be fired-up to spring a surprise, while ‘Flying Finn’ Juha Rytkönen showed at Kouvola last year that he is no respecter of reputations and has the confidence and commitment to take the fight to the sport’s best.

Perhaps the most intriguing addition to the entry for Germany, however, is that of DA Racing duo Jean-Baptiste ‘JB’ Dubourg and brother, Andréa. The pair placed second and fifth respectively in the Euro RX Supercar (now RX1) standings last season, and JB is a former podium-finisher in the World Championship, so both are more than capable of mixing it with the World RX regulars.

As DA Racing prepares to launch an assault on the new headlining RX1e electric category in 2022, their performance behind the wheel of the potent Peugeot 208 this summer will be fascinating to watch...

Entry list World RX of Germany 2/3 (Published by the FIA)

No Driver Nat. Competitor Nat. Car
9 Kevin HANSEN SWE Hansen World RX Team SWE Peugeot 208
18 Juha RYTKÖNEN FIN Juha Rytkönen FIN Ford Fiesta
21 Timmy HANSEN SWE Hansen World RX Team SWE Peugeot 208
23 Krisztián SZABÓ HUN GRX-SET World RX Team FIN Hyundai i20
38 Mandie AUGUST DEU ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport DEU Seat Ibiza
42 Oliver BENNETT GBR Oliver Bennett GBR Mini Cooper
44 Timo SCHEIDER DEU ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport DEU Seat Ibiza
68 Niclas GRÖNHOLM FIN GRX-SET World RX Team FIN Hyundai i20
69 Kevin ABBRING NLD Unkorrupted FRA Renault Mégane RS
73 Tamás KÁRAI HUN Kárai Motorsport Sportegyesület HUN Audi S1
77 René MÜNNICH DEU ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport DEU Seat Ibiza
84 Hervé KNAPICK FRA Hervé Knapick FRA Citroën DS3
87 Jean-Baptiste DUBOURG FRA Jean-Baptiste Dubourg FRA Peugeot 208
123 Andreá DUBOURG FRA Andreá Dubourg FRA Peugeot 208