Wednesday | 30 Jun 2021

Catalunya entry lists unveiled – featuring 17-strong grids in World RX and Euro RX3

  • Champions from rallycross and other disciplines headline stellar Spanish line-up
  • 16 nationalities, nine automotive brands and 12 models of car set for Catalunya
  • Tantalising blend of youth and experience characterises both grids in Barcelona


The entry lists for the 2021 FIA World Rallycross Championship curtain-raiser in Catalunya next month (23/24 July) have today been revealed, with 17-car grids in both World RX and Euro RX3 setting the scene for a sensational weekend’s racing in Spain.

Bearing witness to the series’ enduring and burgeoning international appeal, there are no fewer than 16 nationalities represented across the two lists, as well as nine automotive brands – including giants of the industry such as Ford, Volkswagen and Renault – and 12 different models of car.

On the driving front, the star-studded entries feature two World Rallycross Champions, three European Rallycross Champions and multiple national champions, as well as esteemed title-winners from a whole host of other disciplines.

The World RX line-up is headlined by defending champion Johan Kristoffersson, who is chasing a fourth World Championship crown this year after switching to Audi machinery for the first time with KYB EKS JC.

The Swede will face a stiff challenge, however, from a number of corners, with 2019 title-holder Timmy Hansen and younger brother Kevin armed with the potent Peugeot 208 and Niclas Grönholm (GRX-SET) hungry to put his Hyundai at the front of the field. Nor should Kevin Abbring be discounted in the Unkorrupted Renault Mégane, particularly after his scene-stealing World RX debut in Norway two years ago.

A number of interesting ‘wild cards’, meanwhile, have the potential to spring a surprise, including two-time Euro RX Supercar (now RX1) Champion Timur Timerzyanov – an 11th-hour addition to the field with GRX-SET – ‘Flying Finn’ Juha Rytkönen, who made such an impression on his World RX bow on home soil at Kouvola last summer and double DTM king Timo Scheider, who spearheads a three-strong ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport assault.

Five of last season’s top ten finishers in Euro RX3 (formerly Super1600) are back in action, with highest scorer Yury Belevskiy targeting the trophy denied to him in 2020, when cancellation of events due to COVID meant no title was ultimately awarded. He will need to fight off the threats, however, of Volland Racing stablemates Gergely Marton and Marat Knyazev, who have their sights similarly set on the spoils.

Series stalwarts Janno Ligur and Espen Isaksaetre both rejoin the fray following a year’s absence from the grid, while ex-Super1600 front-runner Kasparas Navickas returns for the first time since 2017. Jan Černý reignited his rallycross career last season after more than a decade away in rallying – tasting success in the FIA European Rally Championship along the way – and he is back for more in 2021.

There are also, intriguingly, seven rookies in the field, including Jiří Šusta – whose elder brothers Stanislav and Josef were both accomplished racers in their own right, and who will become the youngest driver in RX3/Super1600 history when he makes his debut in Catalunya – and Kobe Pauwels, who arrives with an impressive pedigree from international karting and CrossCar circles.

The entry list for the FIA RX2e Championship – the first-ever FIA electric rallycross championship – will be released at a later date, with a number of big names having already signed up to compete.

Entry list World RX of Catalunya (Published by the FIA on 30.06.2021)

No. Driver Nat. Competitor Nat. Car
7 Timur TIMERZYANOV   Timur Timerzyanov   Hyundai i20
9 Kevin HANSEN* SWE Hansen World RX Team SWE Peugeot 208
17 Dan ÖBERG SWE Hedströms Motorsport SWE Volkswagen Polo
18 Juha RYTKÖNEN FIN Juha Rytkönen FIN Ford Fiesta
21 Timmy HANSEN* SWE Hansen World RX Team SWE Peugeot 208
23 Krisztián SZABÓ* HUN GRX-SET World RX Team FIN Hyundai i20
38 Mandie AUGUST DEU ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport DEU Seat Ibiza
42 Oliver BENNETT GBR Oliver Bennett GBR Mini Cooper
44 Timo SCHEIDER DEU ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport DEU Seat Ibiza
50 Attila MOZER HUN Nyirad Motorsport KFT HUN Ford Fiesta
68 Niclas GRÖNHOLM* FIN GRX-SET World RX Team FIN Hyundai i20
69 Kevin ABBRING* NLD Unkorrupted FRA Renault Mégane RS
73 Tamás KÁRAI HUN Kárai Motorsport Sportegyesület HUN Audi S1
77 René MÜNNICH DEU ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport DEU Seat Ibiza
83 Patrick GUILLERME FRA Patrick Guillerme FRA Hyundai i20

*Denotes Permanent Entrants

Entry List Euro RX3 - World RX of Catalunya (Published by the FIA on 30.06.2021)

No. Driver Nat. Competitor Nat. Car
6 Damian LITWINOWICZ* POL Damian Litwinowicz POL Audi A1
11 Jan CERNÝ* CZE Pajrs S.R.O. CZE Škoda Citigo
14 Kasparas NAVICKAS LTU Dakaras LR, VSI LTU Škoda Fabia
18 Zsolt SZÍJJ JOLLY HUN Speedy Motorsport HUN Audi A1
20 Siim SALURI* EST RS Racing Team EST Renault Twingo
22 Kobe PAUWELS BEL Volland Racing KFT. HUN Audi A1
23 Radosław RACZKOWSKI* POL Automax Motorsport POL Škoda Fabia
54 Marat KNYAZEV* RUS Volland Racing KFT. HUN Audi A1
61 Jiri SUSTA* CZE Josef Šusta CZE Škoda Fabia
86 Lukas NEY* DEU ADAC Team Weser-Ems E.V. DEU Škoda Fabia
89 Timur SHIGABUTDINOV* RUS Volland Racing KFT. HUN Audi A1
95 Yury BELEVSKIY* CHE Volland Racing KFT. HUN Audi A1
96 Marcel SUCHÝ* CZE JihoČesky Autoklub V AČR CZE Škoda Fabia

*Denotes Permanent Entrants