What is Rallycross?

What is Rallycross?

Rallycross is a combination of rallying and circuit racing. It is head-to-head short, sharp races on mixed surfaces (dirt and asphalt) contained within amphitheatre venues.

Launched in 2014, the FIA World Rallycross Championship represents the pinnacle of the dual-surface discipline – originally created back in 1967 – and in 2022, the series embarked upon a new electric era in which all entrants compete with identical powertrains, supplied by Austrian manufacturer Kreisel.

With 500kW delivered to the twin motors – equivalent to 680bhp – and 880Nm of instant torque at the touch of a pedal, these are the most powerful World Rallycross cars ever produced, boasting eye-watering acceleration faster even than Formula 1 while retaining the easily recognisable production car bodyshells synonymous with the sport.

The World Championship is supported at selected events by the FIA RX2e Championship and FIA European Rallycross Championship for RX1 and RX3 cars.

World RX Season Launch 2022: News Clip


  • Each event is made up of Free Practice sessions, a SuperPole shootout (World RX only), up to three rounds of Heat races, a Progression round, knock-out Semi-Finals and the all-important Final
  • The SuperPole shootout – in which all competitors complete a single timed lap from a standing start – determines grid positions for Heat One in World RX; in RX2e, Euro RX1 and Euro RX3, starting positions are decided by a random draw carried out in advance of the first Heat
  • Single-header events comprise three Heats, reduced to two for double-headers
  • Each Heat features a number of races (depending on total number of entries)
  • Finishing positions in Heat races determine the starting positions for the following Heat, according to a pre-determined matrix
  • The Classification at the end of each Heat is established by total race time (so for example, a driver who places fourth in race one with a finishing time of 3m00s will rank higher than a driver who finishes first in race two with a slower time of 3m05s). The fastest driver in the Classification scores 50 points, second-fastest 45 points and so on. These points count towards the intermediate Ranking at the end of all the Heats, but not towards the championship
  • All drivers then enter a Progression race, in which the highest-ranked driver from the Heats chooses their grid slot first, followed by the next-highest and so forth
  • Where entry numbers are 15 or lower, the top ten drivers from the Progression stage advance to two Semi-Finals, from where the top five (first and second from each Semi-Final, plus the third-placed driver with the higher Intermediate Ranking) proceed to the Final. When total entries are higher than 15 cars, three Semi-Finals are held (Euro RX and RX2e only), from where the three winners and two second-placed drivers with the best Intermediate Ranking advance to the Final
  • All races feature a maximum of five cars, starting line-abreast and competing over five laps


Championship Points

  • Championship points are only awarded at the end of the event, according to the following breakdown from 1st place down to 15th: 20-16-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
  • All points scored in every round of the season count towards a competitor’s overall score
  • The Teams’ Championship is open to World Championship teams fielding two cars, and includes all points scored by both of the team’s drivers at each event