Thu 11 Apr 2024

Scheider pips world champions to ‘Racer of the Year’ accolade

Timo Scheider has seen off a host of world champions to be selected as ‘Racer of the Year’ in the ‘Rally’ category in a readers’ poll run by German weekly magazine, Motorsport Aktuell.

Scheider celebrated his finest season to-date in the FIA World Rallycross Championship in 2023, racing to his breakthrough victory with ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport following a stellar performance in South Africa and similarly reaching the rostrum on three further occasions to cement a career-high fourth in the overall standings.

Already voted ‘Driver of the Year’ in World RX, the 45-year-old has now joined the likes of reigning Formula 1 World Champion Max Verstappen, 2023 FIA World Endurance Champion Sébastien Buemi, former FIA Formula E World Champion Pascal Wehrlein and current WRC2 championship leader Oliver Solberg as a winner in the most recent Motorsport Aktuell awards.

In so doing, he pushed 2023 FIA World Rally Champion Kalle Rovanperä into second place, with fellow WRC front-runner Thierry Neuville third, multiple Dakar Rally winner and double World Rally-Raid Champion Nasser Al-Attiyah fourth and six-time FIA World Rallycross Champion Johan Kristoffersson rounding out a star-studded top five.

“After winning the fan vote for World Rallycross ‘Driver of the Year’, to be voted as ‘Rally Driver of the Year’ against the world’s elite in rally sport, I’m speechless and very grateful, because the fans are the most important people in our sport,” Scheider enthused.

“This is amazing and makes me really proud. In my opinion, the guys from the WRC and rally world are the most talented artists behind the wheel. Congratulations of course to all the other category winners, too.”

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 8:30:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 9:30:00 AM