Tue 28 Jun 2022

World RX #GOAT Top Ten Countdown: Timur Timerzyanov (8th)

A little while ago, we asked you for your thoughts on the best drivers since the inception of the FIA World Rallycross Championship back in 2014. You responded enthusiastically, with more than 15,000 votes cast in total – and now, in reverse order, we can reveal the top ten…

8th: Timur Timerzyanov

World RX Titles: 0
World RX Wins: 1
World RX Podiums: 6
Best Championship Finish: 5th (2019)

Timur Timerzyanov chose motorsport over a burgeoning career in gymnastics and success in rallycross came quickly, achieving his first European title in the Super1600 (now Euro RX3) category in 2010 prior to a move into the headlining Supercar (now Euro RX1) class the following year. 

Joining Namus Hansen Motorsport, Timerzyanov clinched back-to-back Euro RX crowns behind the wheel of a Citroën DS3 in 2012 and 2013, in the final seasons before the series evolved into the current World Championship.

As one of the most experienced drivers on the grid, the Russian was a front-runner from the outset, continuing to notch up podiums during stints with Team Peugeot-Hansen (2014) and World RX Team Austria (2016) before embarking upon on a fresh challenge with the GRX TANECO outfit in 2018, driving a Hyundai i20 alongside Niclas Grönholm.

Timerzyanov recorded his maiden World RX win at Belgium’s legendary Spa-Francorchamps circuit in 2019 – a hugely popular result throughout the paddock, and one that helped him to secure a career-high fifth-place finish in the end-of-season standings. He added another rostrum to his tally at Kouvola in 2020.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM