Thursday 14th of December 2017

France’s Cyril Raymond claimed the prestigious Golden Wheel award at the French ASN (FFSA)’s annual awards ceremony earlier this week. The 2017 RX2 International Series champion, the single-make support category to the FIA World Rallycross Championship, joined Formula One drivers Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon, and World Rally Champion Sebastien Ogier by being honoured at the event. 

Raymond is the first rallycross driver to receive the award. “It's a huge honour to win this. Only the ‘legend’ drivers win this prestigious trophy and I'm so happy for the rallycross too. It was sensational to be on the podium with drivers like Pierre Gasly, Esteban Ocon and Seb Ogier. This is a huge award for my personal career and for French rallycross,” he said. 

FIA President Jean Todt, motorsport legends Jean Ragnotti and Jean Alesi were also at the occasion in Paris, along with French drivers from throughout the motorsport world. “The French Federation always talked about Formula One and rally, but rallycross is beginning to become very important in France and around the world. IMG and RX2 are doing a really good job for getting rallycross recognised. I think we are the future of motorsport.” 

The double champion believes he made the right decision to spend a second year in RX2, rather than moving to a Euro RX or World RX Supercar in 2017. “It was the best decision of my rallycross career. I learnt a lot in RX2, it's like the Formula 2 and Formula 1. You have to go step by step, win every class before going into Supercar. Andreas Eriksson (OlsbergsMSE team principal) decided this program because I wasn't ready to move up in Supercar. The RX2 series is the best class for a young driver to race on the way to World RX.” Raymond is yet to announce his 2018 plans.


Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter