Thursday 19th of October 2017

The entry list for the 12th and final round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship at Cape Town in South Africa next month has been revealed by the FIA. 

Sweden’s Johan Kristoffersson has sewn up the World RX Drivers’ title and leads the 22-strong Supercar field into the final round, but the battle for second is set to go down to wire with just one point separating Norway’s Petter Solberg and Sweden’s Mattias Ekstrom. 

Two South African drivers will compete at their home event for the first time international rallycross has been held in the country. Mark Cronje will drive an Albatec Racing Peugeot 208 WRX and Ashley Haigh-Smith will compete in an Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta. 

Also joining the permanent teams and drivers will be Sweden’s Oliver Eriksson in a second OMSE Fiesta and Belgium’s Gregoire Demoustier, who will drive a Peugeot 208 WRX for the DA Racing team alongside returning driver Jean-Baptiste Dubourg. Germany’s Rene Muennich has already experienced the Killarney International Raceway when he drove at the event’s launch and will race his Muennich Motorsport Seat Ibiza. 

The World RX of South Africa will also be the final round of the RX2 International Series. France’s Cyril Raymond wrapped up the title at his home round in Loheac, but there are still ongoing battles throughout the 16-car field. None more so than for fourth overall, with Sweden’s William Nilsson, America’s Tanner Whitten and Sweden’s Simon Olofsson separated by just four points. France’s Guerlain Chicherit will race in RX2 as he prepares for competing in World RX full time in 2018. 

Find the Cape Town World RX Entry List here.

Find the Cape Town RX2 Entry List here.


Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter