Friday 6th of October 2017

The final rounds of the FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super1600 and the FIA European Rallycross Championship for TouringCar took place alongside the FIA World Rallycross Championship at the Estering in Germany last weekend, where the champions in each class were crowned. 

In Euro RX TouringCar, Norway’s Lars Oivind Enerberg put his name on the Champions’ trophy for the second time at the end of the qualifying stages, but lost time in semi-final one and didn’t make it into the final. In the last final of the season for the TouringCar drivers, Norway’s Anders-Nymoen Braten led compatriot David Nordgard on the opening lap, but it was outgoing champion Ben-Phlio Gundersen who took his joker on lap two and then won when Nordgard also took his joker on the final lap. Nordgard finished second and Braten was third. Sweden’s Philip Gehrman, Belgium’s Steve Volders and Norway’s Kjetil Larsen completed the final. 

The Championship battle was closer in the Super1600 car entering the final round, but by the final Hungary’s Krisztian Szabo had put the title out of reach of team mate, Latvia’s Artis Baumanis. Lithuania’s Kasparas Navikas dominated the Estering round and took maximum points and a win in the final, in front of Finland’s Jussi-Petteri Leppihalme and Baumanis. Estonia’s Janno Ligur was fourth, Czech Republic’s Josef Susta was fifth and Szabo was sixth having won his second Championship in a row. Denmark’s Ulrik Linnemann didn’t make the final, he crashed out of semi-final one at the first corner. 

Watch the Germany RX Super1600 final here.

Euro RX season reviews will be published on the World RX website soon.

Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter