Thursday 27th of April 2017

The entry list for the opening round of the RX2 International Series in Belgium has been revealed, where 18 drivers from eight different nationalities will compete in the single-make support category in the FIA World Rallycross Championship event at Mettet. 

The list of entries is headed by reigning champion Cyril Raymond, who will defend his title driving for the OlsbergsMSE team. The French driver will be joined in the squad by America’s Tanner Whitten, who will make his debut in the series at Mettet. Reigning British Rallycross Champion Dan Rooke will graduate to the international series in 2018, having made his inaugural appearance in the category at Lydden Hill last year. 

Two brother and sister pairings will compete in the series. Andreas and Jessica Backman both joined Rooke at the World RX media day in Barcelona recently to give passenger rides to guests, and raced in the opening round of RallyX Nordic in Norway last weekend, along with several other competitors. Sweden’s Simon Oloffson won his home round in 2016 at Holjes and will be joined by the return of his sister to the series, Sandra Hultgren, in the STS RX squad. 

The first Kenyan driver to start in a World RX event, Tejas Hirani, will also return, while Latvia’s Vasiliy Gryazin is set to be a permanent fixture in the RX2 line-up, following his debut in the class at his home event in Riga last October. The former rally driver will be joined by a pair of experienced home rally competitors at the opening round in Belgium. Ghislain de Mevius will make his RX2 debut at Mettet, as will Guillame De Ridder, driving for the JC Raceteknik team. Also in the JC Raceteknik squad will be Norway’s Sondre Evjen and Sweden’s William Nilsson, the pair finishing second and fourth in the RallyX Nordic season opener. Norway’s Thomas Holmen was fifth in his home RallyX Nordic event in an STS RX-run car and will begin his RX2 title challenge in Belgium, where former Euro RX Super1600 racer Glenn Haug will make his switch to four-wheel drive in RX2. 

Norway’s Simon Wago Syversen will return with the Set Promotion team, while Sweden’s Anders Michalak and Santosh Berggren will get their seasons underway in Belgium, Berggren driving the car that Kevin Hansen used to win the title in 2015 

The RX2 International Series joins World RX at seven events in 2017, with the champion set to be crowned at the season finale in Cape Town, South Africa, in November. 

Find the full entry list here.


Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter