Saturday 22nd of April 2017

Sweden’s Johan Kristoffersson set the fastest time in Q1 at the Bompiso Rallycross of Portugal, round two of the FIA World Rallycross Championship. 

Kristoffersson led all of the fourth race in Q1 at Montelagre to set the quickest time, as his PSRX Volkswagen Sweden team mate Petter Solberg finished ahead of Sebastien Loeb in race five and was second fastest, with Loeb third, over two seconds behind Kristoffersson. 

Latvia’s Janis Baumanis lived up to his pre-event prediction that he and the STARD Ford Fiesta would be pushing hard in Portugal, and was fourth fastest overall, ahead of round one winner and reigning World RX champion Mattias Ekstrom. Norway’s Andreas Bakkerud won his race in front of Sweden’s Kevin Hansen, but forgot to take his joker lap and was handed a 30 second penalty, meaning that the Barcelona RX podium finisher was 21st overall in Q1 and will start in the first race of Q2, along with local driver Joaquim Santos, who spun his Ford Focus and didn’t finish.

MJP Racing Team Austria’s Kevin Eriksson won the first race of the event and is sixth overall before Q2 this afternoon. Sweden’s Timmy Hansen and Latvia’s Reinis Nitiss had a race long battle in their race and ended up ninth and 14th. Also currently inside the top 12 are Topi Heikkinen, Guy Wilks, Timur Timerzyanov and Timo Schieder.

Find full results here.


Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter