Friday 24th of March 2017

Two drivers will start the FIA European Rallycross Championship in Barcelona, in just over two weeks’ time bidding for their second Euro RX Supercar title. 

Sweden’s Robin Larsson won the Championship in 2014, driving the Audi A1 Supercar that he then raced in back-to-back campaigns in the FIA World Rallycross Championship, scoring several podiums and victory in Argentina in 2015. Norway’s Tommy Rustad claimed the European Championship title racing a Volkswagen Polo in 2015, but switched to the Albatec Racing team for last year to race a Peugeot 208 and in his second season with the team this year, is targeting his second title.

“It looks like the European Championship is stronger than ever, on the high level of the drivers, the teams and amount of entries. 29 permanent drivers is amazing,” said Rustad. “I think there are at least eight or ten drivers that can win the Championship. The whole field is very strong, I expect the Marklund team to be strong, Robin Larsson, Rene Munnich and the top drivers form the European Championship last year. It will be an interesting season.” Albatec Racing will test in France next week ahead of the opening round. “The test will be very handy ahead of Barcelona. I’m looking forward to getting back into the car,” concluded Rustad.

If Larsson can win his second Euro RX title this season, he will emulate his father Lars Larsson, who won the Championship twice, in 20006 and 2007. “I'm aiming for the title in Euro RX, for sure. I’m looking forward to the season, there are a lot of good drivers,” said Larsson. “We’ve changed transmission to Unic, which is the same that Petter Solberg used in his Citroen DS3 and we’re going to do a lot more testing, with the right guys with us, like for the suspension. We only did two days of testing last season, so I think we can find more speed compared to last year.”

Find the full list of permanent Euro RX drivers for 2017 here.


Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter