Thursday 28th of April 2016

The official entry list for the third round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship at Mettet in Belgium (13-15 May) has been released by the FIA. The event also hosts the first round of the FIA European Rallycross Championship, contributing to a record-breaking entry of 49 Supercars.

In the FIA World Rallycross Championship, the permanent teams and drivers will be joined by Peugeot Hansen Academy racer Davy Jeanney and former World Rally Championship star Francois Duval. The Belgian announced earlier this week that he will drive an Olsbergs MSE Fiesta at his home event. 

Norway’s Tommy Rustad heads the entry list in the FIA European Rallycross Championship Supercar category as champion, now racing for British team Albatec Racing. Also driving Peugeot 208s in Euro RX will be three of rallycross’ rising stars; 2015 RX Lites Cup Champion Kevin Hansen, reigning Euro RX TouringCar champion Fredrik Salsten and Ulrik Linnemann, who won the first round of the Euro RX Super1600 category in Portugal.

Poland’s Krzysztof Holowczyc and Martin Kaczmarski graduate from RX Lites and make their first Supercar starts with the Lotto Team, while 2015 Euro RX contender Jerome Grosset-Janin will line up alongside Rustad and Andy Scott in the Albatec squad.

France’s 2016 Andros Trophy champion Jean-Baptiste Dubourg will race a new DA Racing built Citroen DS3, while Norway’s Alexander Hvaal and Finland’s Joni-Pekka Rajala will drive Volkswagen Beetle’s for Eklund Motorsport. Former circuit racing star Tamas Pal Kiss will race an ex-Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 208, and World RX Team Austria owner Max Pucher will begin his Euro RX challenge in a third Ford Fiesta run by the World RX team.

Germany’s Andreas Steffen will race a Ford Fiesta Supercar for the first time, and former Super1600 and TouringCar champion Michael De Keersmaecker will return to the sport in a Ford Fiesta, while another former TouringCar champion, Ireland’s Derek Tohill, will also race a Ford Fiesta. 

The FIA European Rallycross Championship for TouringCar will also race for the first time of the year at Mettet, in which Sweden’s Daniel Lundh is the only former champion. Last year's Mettet RX winner Fredrik Magnussen will return in his Ford Fiesta.

The RX Lites Cup will also compete at the event, following the first round of the championship in Hockenheim next week. Belgian RX Lites Talent Search winner, Regis Gosselin, will take part, having come out top out of 180 applicants for the prize.

The World RX Supercar entry list can be found here

The Euro RX Supercar and TouringCar entry list can be viewed here

Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter