Friday 26th of February 2016

Double European Rallycross Supercar champion Timur Timerzyanov was recently announced as one of two new drivers for the World RX Team Austria squad in the 2016 FIA World Rallycross Championship.

Below, we take a look back at the Russian drivers first steps into Euro RX Supercar competition.

Driving for the Set Promotion team, Timerzyanov won the Euro RX Super1600 title in 2010, driving a Renault Clio. The same year also proved to be 14-time European champion Kenneth Hansen’s last full year in Supercar, and for 2011, Timerzyanov signed for the Hansen Motorsport squad to partner Liam Doran, who had finished third in the championship with the team in 2010, one place behind team owner Hansen. 

Lydden Hill in the UK hosted the opening round of the 2011 season and Timerzyanov qualified for the ‘B final’ (prior to 2013, European rallycross used a three heats and A, B, C final format, where the winner of each final would progress to the next). Driving a Hansen-run Citroen C4, Timerzyanov qualified for the B final and duly won, beating Norway’s Frode Holte and America’s Tanner Foust. 

In the A final, Timerzyanov took his joker on the opening lap and mid-race passed Topi Heikkinen, who was starting his first full Euro RX campaign in an Eklund Motorsport Saab 93. Timerzyanov eventually finished fourth. Three time European champion Sverre Isashsen won the event, ahead of France’s Davy Jeanney and home driver Doran. A young Norwegian, Andreas Bakkerud, won the Super1600 final driving for Set Promotion.

At the next round, at Montalegre in Portugal, Timerzyanov scored his first podium, finishing third behind Foust and Andreas Eriksson in a pair of Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiestas. The Russian again finished on the podium in Hell, Norway and then at round six, at Maasmechelen in Belgium, Timerzyanov joined the list of European championship event winners, claiming victory despite picking up a puncture in the closing stages. Holte finished second with Doran third and Andy Scott fourth.

Finishing his debut season in third overall, behind Isachsen and Foust, Timerzyanov moved to a Hansen Motorsport Citroen DS3 for 2012 and won the title, a feat he repeated the following year, and as such, ran the coveted number one on his car for the inaugural FIA World Rallycross Championship in 2014.

Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter