Friday 11th of December 2020

Almost exactly five years ago, the FIA World Rallycross Championship got a new winner, as Sweden’s Robin Larsson scored one of the most popular victories in World RX history.

Entering the final round of the 2015 season at Rosario in Argentina, the Drivers’ title battle was going down to the wire between Norway’s Petter Solberg and Sweden’s Timmy Hansen. By qualifying for the semi-finals, Solberg had done enough to take his second World RX title in a row, and attentions turned to who would win the final round of the season.

Hansen took pole position for the final by winning semi-final two, as TQ (top qualifier), Norway’s Andreas Bakkerud, ran into problems. That gave Hansen pole for the final, with the winner of semi-final one, Robin Larsson, also on the front row. Audi A1 driver Larsson made a move for the lead at the first unsealed-surface chicane on the very first lap, and the two drivers exchanged places several times.

EKS’s Mattias Ekstrom, from Sweden, also overtook Hansen in the early part of the race, having already overtaken Latvia’s Janis Baumanis, making his debut for World RX Team Austria. Ekstrom applied pressure to the leader Larsson, but Hansen’s race ended when he spun at the first corner later in the race and was hit by younger brother Kevin Hansen, the RX Lites Cup (later RX2 International Series) Champion racing a OlsbergsMSE Ford Fiesta as his prize drive.

Towards the end of the race, after the joker laps have been taken, Ekstrom had contact with Solberg, and Larsson was able to take his joker untroubled to claim victory, flanked by Ekstrom and newly crowned champion Solberg on the podium.

Driving the Audi A1 run by his family team as an individual entry, Larsson had taken on the big teams and won. Rewtach the final here.

Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter