Thursday 6th of August 2020

The entry list for rounds three and four of the 2020 FIA World Rallycross Championship, the CapitalBox World RX of Finland at Kouvola, 29-30 August, has been published by the FIA.

The 19-driver list features no less than five Finnish drivers, led by two-time World RX event winner Niclas Gronholm, racing his regular Hyundai i20 for the GRX Taneco team. He will not only be joined by GRX Taneco team mate Timur Timerzyanov, from Russia, for his home race, but also two-time Finnish Rallycross Champion Juha Rytkonen in a third i20, entered by GRX SET.

Another Finnish Rallycross Champion, Atro Maatta, will take the wheel of a Ford Fiesta Supercar, a similar car to Jere Kalliokoski, a driver who raced in Euro RX and World RX in recent seasons. Having now joined the list of drivers competing in every round of the 2020 World RX season, Finland’s Jani Paasonen, the former World Rally driver, completes the list of home heroes.

Also making his first World RX appearance of the season, after racing in round one of the FIA European Rallycross Championship for Supercar at Holjes the week before Kouvola, will be Hungary’s Tamas Karai in his Audi S1.

Many of the Permanent Teams and Drivers in World RX have experience of racing at the Kouvola Circuit, but it will also be all-new for some, including two-time World RX Drivers’ Champion Johan Kristoffersson, from Sweden, and ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport’s Timo Scheider, from Germany. 

Find the full Kouvola World RX entry list here.



Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter