Thursday 30th of July 2020

The entry list for the first two rounds of the FIA World Rallycross Championship, the Swecon World RX of Sweden at Holjes, August 21 – 23, has been published by the FIA.

Two former Drivers’ Champions and eight World RX event winners are included in the 17-car field for the Swedish weekend, where Sweden’s Timmy Hansen, the reigning World RX Drivers’ Champion will run with the number 1 on the side of his Peugeot 208 for the very first time. His team mate and brother Kevin Hansen will also have a new number for 2020, number 9, on the side of his 208 as Team Hansen begin the defence of its 2019 Teams’ title.

The other World RX Drivers’ Champion on the grid, making his return to World RX is Johan Kristoffersson (Volkswagen Polo), racing as an individual entry with Kristoffersson Motorsport. Norway’s Andreas Bakkerud will make his debut in a Renault Megane in the Monster Energy GCK RX Catel team, together with Great Britain’s Liam Doran. Sweden’s Anton Marklund will also race a Megane under the GCK Bilstein entry and GC Kompetition owner Guerlain Chicherit, from France, and new Unkorrupted team mate Rokas Baciuska, from Lithuania, will drive a pair of Renault Clios.

Finland’s Niclas Gronholm and Russia’s Timur Timerzyanov remain with the GRX Taneco Hyundai i20s for 2020, and will be joined by a third i20 at Holjes, run by GRX SET, driven by Hungary’s Krisztian Szabo. Other two cars teams are in the form of KYB Team JC, running a pair of Audi S1s for Sweden’s Robin Larsson and Latvia’s Janis Baumanis, and ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport, with Germany’s Timo Sceider and Rene Muennich driving two Seat Ibizas.

Also on the Swecon World RX of Sweden entry list is the winner from 2019, Sebastian Eriksson, driving a Honda Civic Supercar from OlsbergsMSE.

24 drivers, from nine different countries, are entered for the first round of the FIA European Rallycross Championship for Supercar, which will be held as a single round over two days at Holjes.

2019 Euro RX Supercar title contenders Jean-Baptiste Dubourg (Peugeot 208), from France and Thomas Bryntesson (Volkswagen Polo), from Norway, top the list, along with two-time RX2 International Series Champion Oliver Eriksson in an Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta. Sweden’s Pontus Tidemand (Volkswagen Polo) is part of a two-car line up with Peter Hedstrom, from Sweden. Norway’s Ben-Philip Gundersen (Audi S1) is one of many drivers making the step up to Supercar for 2020, Gundersen racing after part of a three-car Euro RX team from JC Raceteknik. 1999 FIA European Rallycross Champion, Sweden’s Per Eklund, at 74-years-old, will return to the championship with an Eklund Motorsport Volkswagen Beetle.

Find the full Holjes World RX entry list here.

Find the full Holjes Euro RX entry list here.



Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter