Friday 10th of July 2020

The first ever World RX Esports series champion will be crowned this weekend as the series finale takes place on the Killarney International Raceway in Cape Town, South Africa (12 July), with three drivers in the hunt for the title.

Reigning FIA World Rallycross Drivers’ Champion Timmy Hansen is top of the standings before the fourth and final round thanks to consistency throughout the Esports season so far, but he is yet to win a race in the series held on DiRT Rally 2.0™, run in partnership with Esports specialist Motorsport Games, and DiRT video game publisher Codemasters.

Six points behind Hansen in the standings is Great Britain’s Tom Blomqvist, the endurance racing star the winner of round two at Hell in Norway. Third in the standings, Sweden’s Kevin Hansen is six points behind Blomqvist and could mount a title challenge with a strong performance this weekend.

Along with Blomqvist, one of the non-rallycross stars of the series has been New Zealand’s Shane van Gisbergen, who dominated round one at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi and then finished second to Blomqvist in Norway. But, due to clashing real-life Australian V8 Supercar commitments, Van Gisbergen missed round three and is P4 in the standings. He’s back this weekend looking for his second win of the series.

The winner from round three also returns, France’s Jonathan Pailler, who caused an upset at Holjes-Sweden with victory on his World RX Esports debut. Norway’s Henrik Krogstad is another driver, like Timmy Hansen, who has been in recent real-life competition, and has been a strong performer in the World RX Esports series so far. He will also be in the podium hunt.

Together with Van Gisbergen, New Zealand will be well represented for the South African round, with World Rally Championship round-winner Hayden Paddon making his third start, and Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy racer Simon Evans making his inaugural World RX Esports appearance.

Like Van Gisbergen, Australian Supercars driver Scott Pye missed round three but is back for the series finale, together with former Ferrari Formula 1 driver Mika Salo, from Finland, driving a Ford Fiesta. Great Britain’s Oliver Bennett will make his Esports return as one of two BMW Minis on the grid, together with anther British driver, Max Coates. 

Two home drivers will fly the South African flag in the series finale on the Killarney circuit, with Blancpain GT star David Perel and another GT racer, Jordan Pepper, both driving Peugeot 208s.  

Turkey’s Orhan Avcioglu (Peugeot 208), Great Britain’s Tessa Whittock (Audi S1), Russia’s Matvey Furahzkin (Peugeot 208), Norway’s Sivert Svardal (Peugeot 208), Great Britain’s Fail Race (Audi S1) and Norway’s Marius Bermingrud (Peugeot 208) complete the 20-driver Pro line-up.


France’s Killian Dall’olmo, the DiRT 2.0 Rallycross World Champion, leads the standings in the Sim category by a single point over brother Quentin Dall’olmo entering the final round decider. Czech Republic’s Lukas Mateja will be a victory contender in the season finale and is P3 in the points.

The Sim category is home to 10 top Esports racers and will feature semi-finals and final in the live broadcast. Netherlands’ Nigel Croese, Australia’s Jarod Pesch, Britain’s John Harris, Finland’s Tommi Hallman and Daniel Johansson and Johan Lundqvist, from Sweden return to complete the series, but Jonne Ollikainen will make his World RX Esports debut, standing in for SET Esports team mate Klara Andersson.

The event will be comprised of 22 races and form a two-and-a-half hour show starting at 1330 UK / 1430 CET on 12 July and available on World RX Facebook and YouTube, as well as on, EDGEsport and Supersport.


Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter