Saturday 30th of May 2020

Some of the biggest names from the FIA World Rallycross Championship will be joined by star drivers from an array of disciplines for the first race in a new series of World RX Esports events, starting this Sunday at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi (31 May).

The star guests for the next instalment of World RX Esports DiRT Rally 2.0™ events in partnership with Esports specialist Motorsport Games, and DiRT video game publisher Codemasters, include New Zealand’s Shane van Gisbergen in a Peugeot 208 WRX. The Supercars ace was one of the stand out guest racers in the recent standalone World RX Esports event in Portugal and returns this weekend, joined by another Supercars driver, Australia’s Scott Pye, driving a Renault Megane RS RX. World Touring Car Cup driver, Argentina’s Esteban Guerrieri switches to rallycross with ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport team mate, Germany’s Timo Scheider in a pair of Seat Ibizas.

With number 1 on the side of his Peugeot 208 WRX, FIA World Rallycross Drivers’ Champion Timmy Hansen, from Sweden, leads the list of World RX drivers in the Yas Marina Circuit event, together with Team Hansen team mate Kevin Hansen, who won World RX round 1 in Abu Dhabi in 2019. The other challenger for the 2019 Drivers’ title, Norway’s Andreas Bakkerud, returns to World RX Esports for the event with the Monster Energy RX Cartel Audi S1 he raced to race wins and almost won the title with last season.

GT racing star Tom Blomqvist, from Great Britain, also joins the rallycross debutants at Yas Marina Circuit, including Monster Energy’s drift star Tessa Whittock, also from Great Britain. Blomqvist will drive a Peugeot 208 WRX and Whittock will take the wheel of an Audi S1. Another GT racer, South Africa’s Kelvin van der Linde will take the wheel of a Peugeot 208 and X Games medallist Blake "Bilko" Williams is another driver choosing the Audi S1 Quattro. Former Formula 1 racer Mika Salo will race the only Ford Fiesta in the field.

Great Britain’s Oliver Bennett will be at the wheel of his familiar, virtual, Mini RX, and Lithuania’s Rokas Baciuska will drive the GC Kompetition Renault Megane RS RX he starred in last season. Russia’s Matvey Furahzkin will return to Esports with a Peugeot 208 WRX and online sensation FailRace will drive an Audi S1.

Flying the flag for the RX2 International Series in the event will be Jamaica’s Fraser McConnell, the Olsbergs MSE driver lining up together with Yellow Squad’s Henrik Krogstad,  from Norway, who raced in the first two World RX Esports Invitational races. Former RX2 driver, America’s Conner Martell and Sweden’s Martin Enlund complete the grid of Pro drivers. 

The event will also include semi-finals and final for 10 top Esports racers in the live broadcast. That includes the winners of the first two World RX Esports Invitational races, Sweden’s Mattias Adielsson and France’s Quentin Dall’olmo. Great Britain’s Jon Armstrong will also be a victory contender. The SET Esports team will field three entries for France’s Killian Doll’olmo, Sweden’s Klara Andersson and Finland’s Jami Kalliomaki as Czech Republic’s Lukas Mateja also returns to the grid. Netherlands’ Nigel Croese, Australia’s Jarod Pesch and Great Britain’s Bebnowicz-Harris complete the list of Esports driver vying for a place in the five car final.

The event will be comprised of 22 races and form a two-and-a-half hour show starting at 1330 UK / 1430 CET on 31 May and available on World RX Facebook and YouTube, as well as on


Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter