Thursday 13th of February 2020

Today’s Throwback Thursday is all the way back to the first ever FIA World Rallycross Championship event at Montalegre in Portugal on May 3-4, 2014, a picturesque mountainous circuit that World RX will return to this season.

Team Peugeot Hansen’s Timur Timerzyanov set the quickest times in Q1 and Q2 on Saturday to be overnight TQ (top qualifier) with the brand new Peugeot 208 WRX, with Olsbergs MSE’s Andreas Bakkerud (Ford Fiesta) and Marklund Motorsport’s Toomas Heikkinen (Volkswagen Polo) taking P2 and P3 leading into day 2.

On Sunday morning, in Q3 and Q4 it was Norway’s Petter Solberg who set the quickest times and moved to P2 in the Intermediate Classification, behind TQ Timerzyanov. Solberg won semi-final 2, but Timerzyanov was only P4 in semi-final 1 and missed the final, as Solberg took pole position.

In the final of the first ever World RX event, Solberg took the win in front of a battling pair of Ford Fiestas, as Bakkerud and Latvia’s Reinis Nitiss finished 2nd and 3rd on the podium to give OMSE the points’ lead. Solberg’s victory, which he celebrated by jumping on the roof of his Citroen DS3, also gave him the points lead in the Drivers’ Championship. Marklund Motorsport pair Heikkinen and Anton Marklund were P4 and P6, with Belgium’s Koen Pauwels in P6.

On his rallycross debut, 1997 Formula One World Champion Jacques Villeneuve was P17 after a spin on Saturday, followed by a fuel pressure issue and puncture on Albatec Racing’s Peugeot 208.

Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter