Saturday 27th of April 2019

Team Hansen MJP’s Timmy Hansen continued where he left off from day one of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Abu Dhabi by setting the quickest time in Q1 at the Cooper Tires World RX of Catalunya.

Hansen used the joker lap at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya to overtake GC Kompetition’s Guerlian Chicherit for the lead in Q1 Race 3 and won in front of Chicherit and GRX Taneco’s Niclas Gronholm. World RX Championship leader Kevin Hansen won Q1 Race 1, a run that had to be restarted after France’s Herve Knapick rolled his Citroen DS3. Hansen won the race in front of GCK Academy’s Cyril Raymond and was second quickest.

GRX’s Timur Timeryanov took the hole shot in Q1 Race 2 and won in front of Monster Energy RX Cartel’s Liam Doran. The Russian is third in the Intermediate Classification, with Chicherit fourth and Doran’s team mate Andreas Bakkerud, the winner of Q1 Race 5, fifth. Making his FIA World Rallycross Championship debut, six-time Olympic champion Chris Hoy jumped the start of his race and had to take two joker laps but completed his first session. Xite Racing team mate Oliver Bennett clipped a barrier in the joker lap section and broke the steering on his BMW Mini.

Sweden’s Oliver Eriksson was quickest in RX2 International Series Q1 and France’s Maximilien Eveno topped Euro RX Super1600.

See full results here 

Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter