Saturday 6th of April 2019

Team Hansen MJP’s Kevin Hansen was quickest in Q3 at the World RX of Abu Dhabi, round one of the 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship as Monster Energy RX Cartel’s Andreas Bakkerud and Team Hansen MJP’s Timmy Hansen clashed in the last race.

Kevin Hansen won Q3 race three in front of EKS Sport’s Krisztian Szabo, the two young drivers ending the third qualifier one-two when Timmy Hansen and Bakkerud came together at turn one of lap four in race four. Contact was made between Bakkerud on the inside and Hansen on the outside, Hansen on the line exiting the joker lap section. Bakkerud retired but Timmy Hansen made it to the finish and victory. With heavy damage to the left side of his Peugeot 208, Hansen couldn’t maintain his usual pace and also delayed GRX Taneco’s Niclas Gronholm, GC Kompetition’s Anton Marklund and GRX Taneco’s Reinis Nitiss.

Team STARD’s Janis Baumanis was third quickest, GRX’s Timur Timerzyanov was fourth, ESmotorsport’s Rokas Backiuska was fifth and ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport’s Timo Scheider was sixth.

Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter