Thursday 6th of September 2018

As Sweden’s Johan Kristoffersson won the eighth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship at Loheac in France last weekend, there were packed grids in the FIA European Rallycross Championship for Supercar and Super1600, and the RX2 International Series.

Two-time RX2 series Champion Cyril Raymond set three quickest times in Euro RX Supercar qualifying to take TQ (top qualifier) in the Intermediate Classification before winning semi-final one and the final to score maximum points. On his debut with the EKS team, two-time Euro RX Super1600 Champion Krisztian Szabo was quickest in Q1, won semi-final one and finished second in the final on his Euro RX Supercar debut in an Audi S1, as reigning Euro RX Supercar Champion Anton Marklund finished the final third.

JC Raceteknik’s Thomas Bryntesson and G-Fors’ Jerre Kalliokoski were fourth and fifth at the end of the event, but Championship leader Reinis Nitiss was slowed by a problem from the first corner of the final. The Latvian continues to lead the points with one round remaining at Latvia RX next week.

In the single-make RX2 category, Belgium’s Guillaume De Ridder was quickest in the opening three qualifiers before Sweden’s Oliver Eriksson was quickest in Q4. Both drivers won in the semi-finals to claim the front row for the final, but by the middle of the first lap it was Norway’s Henrik Krogstad who had taken the lead. Leaving his joker until the final lap, Krogstad was set to win his first event but spun at the exit of the joker and finished sixth. Eriksson claimed the win as Finland’s Sami-Matti Trogen also took his joker on lap six and avoided Krogstad to finish on the podium for the first time in second. De Ridder was third. America’s Conner Martell, Norway’s Sondre Evjen and Krogstad completed the podium.

Lithuania’s Rokas Baciuska dominated qualifying in the FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super1600 and won semi-final one but was denied the clean sweep when his Audi A1 didn’t make it more than a few meters from the start line. Russia’s Aydar Nuriev led the final and scored his first win in a Volland Racing Skoda Fabia. Hungary’s Gergely Marton finished second and Latvia’s Artis Baumanis completed the podium to retake the Championship lead by one point. Marius Bermingrud scored a personal best result with fourth and France’s Yvonnick Jagu completed the list of drivers to finish the six lap finals.

 Find full Loheac RX results here.


Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter