Wednesday 5th of September 2018

The entry list for the ninth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship at Riga in Latvia (September 15 – 16) has been released by the FIA.

On top of the 15 permanent World RX drivers for the Latvian round, EKS Audi Sport will increase to three cars, as Switzerland’s Nico Muller joins Sweden’s Mattias Ekstrom and Norway’s Andreas Bakkerud by racing an Audi S1 for the team.

Muller will be one of five wildcards racing at the Bikernieki circuit. MJP Racing Team Austria will run two Ford Fiestas for Finland’s Toomas ‘Topi’ Heikkinen and Austria’s Alex Wurz, the former Formula 1 podium-finisher and two-time Le Mans winner returning to World RX after his debut at Hell in Norway earlier this year. Germany’s Timo Scheider will race Munnich Motorport Seat Ibiza and Britain’s Oliver Bennett will continue his World RX season with the Xite Racing BMW Mini. The GC Kompetition team is yet to nominate its second driver alongside France’s Guerlain Chicherit.


Sweden’s Daniel Thoren will race a Volkswagen Polo for Hedstroms Motorsport in the final round of the FIA European Rallycross Championship for Supercar, while RX2 front-runner Sondre Evjen, from Norway, will make his Supercar debut in a JC Raceteknik-run Volkswagen Polo. Hungary’s Krisztian Szabo will make his second start in Euro RX Supercar with an EKS Audi S1 after finishing on the podium at Loheac last weekend and Finland’s Joni-Pekka Rajala will race a Ford Fiesta.

A capacity 25-car field will compete in the FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super1600, with Latvia’s Artis Baumanis and Lithuania’s Rokas Baciuska separated by just one point in the standings.

View World RX Entry List Here:

View Euro RX Supercar Entry List Here:

Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter