Saturday 18th of August 2018

Belgium’s Steve Volders has been crowned the 2018 FIA European Rallycross Championship for TouringCar Champion following a final round disqualification for three drivers, including Norway’s Sivert Svardal.

Mazda RX8 driver Svardal was unofficially declared Champion following the third and final round of the series at Holjes in Sweden last month but has subsequently been disqualified from the event due to fuel irregularities.

Having received the analysis of fuel samples, the Stewards found that the fuel used by Svardal, Kenneth Johansson and Ole Morten Tangen did not comply with the regulations and disqualified each of them from the Holjes round.

The Championship standings have been adjusted following the non-score for the three aforementioned drivers at Holjes, meaning Volders claims the last ever Euro RX TouringCar title, one point ahead of final round winner Fredrik Magnussen, who is in turn one point ahead of Daniel Holten in third.

Find full TouringCar points here.

Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter