The FIA’s official Prize Giving Gala took place on Friday, at the Château de Versailles in Paris, where Johan Kristoffersson officially became the FIA World Rallycross Champion by collecting his 2017 Championship trophy. 

PSRX Volkswagen Sweden Team Principal Pernilla Solberg was present to collect the Teams’ Championship trophy, while Sweden’s Mattias Ekstrom and Norway’s Petter Solberg received their respective second and third place awards in the World RX Drivers’ Championship. The World Rallycross winners joined Champions from across the FIA’s Championships, including Formula 1 World Drivers’ Champion Lewis Hamilton and the World Rally Champion, Sebastien Ogier. 

“This is a very big moment. I was third three years ago and then second last year, so finally first – it’s been a great season. Petter (Solberg) has definitely been an inspiration this year, I’ve learnt a lot from him, he has a lot of experience from rallying and I was the first one to take advantage of that. There are some great names in the sport, so it’s nice to be on top,” said Kristoffersson as he collected his award.

The 2017 World RX Champion added: “Sweden has two world champions, or actually three with Pontus (Tidemand, WRC2 Champion and former EKS World RX driver), so it’s been a very good year for the Swedish guys. Obviously Ogier and Sebastien Loeb have won five and nine times (World Championships) in a row, so that’s quite a target.”


Share this story on facebook Share this story on Twitter