Sweden’s Johan Kristoffersson set the quickest time in Q3 at Cape Town in South Africa to move to into TQ (Top Qualifier) position in the final round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship with one qualifying session of the year remaining. 

Kristoffersson beat Sweden’s Mattias Ekstrom in Q3 race four, the 2016 World RX Champion setting the second quickest time in the session to move to third at the Intermediate Classification ahead of Q4. Another Swede, Timmy Hansen, took the lead of Q3 race three when Germany’s Timo Scheider ran wide at the unsealed surface hairpin and won the race. The Peugeot-Hansen driver was third and moves to second after Q3. His team mate, France’s Sebastien Loeb, won race two and was fourth fastest. 

Norway’s Petter Solberg ran around the outside of turn one to climb to third in race three and finished second on track to Hansen, but the most action-filled race was the last of the session, where Finland’s Topi Heikkinen dived up the inside at turn one but was spun after contact. Norway’s Andreas Bakkerud led the race and finished in front over overnight TQ driver Ken Block. Block and Bakkerud and fourth and fifth in the Intermediate Classification, Solberg is sixth. 

In a head-to-head battle between the two South African drivers in the first race of the session, Ashley Haigh-Smith came out on top of Mark Cronje. France’s Cyril Raymond was quickest in RX2 Q3 in front of Latvia’s Vasily Gryazin and America’s Tanner Whitten. 

Find full Cape Town RX results here.


Share this story on facebook Share this story on Twitter