Tuesday 1st of August 2017

The FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy heads to North America and the Canadian Trois-Rivieres circuit for the eighth round of the 2017 campaign this weekend. 

Sweden’s Timmy Hansen, one of only two drivers to have qualified for every final so far this season (along with Sweden’s Johan Kristoffersson), will be hoping for a repeat of his Canadian weekend 12 months ago, where the Team Peugeot-Hansen star made the best of changeable conditions in the final to claim his only win of the year. 

Hansen had only made it into the final after Russia’s Timur Timerzyanov was disqualified from his semi-final, and climbed up the order in wet conditions as Finland’s Topi Heikkinen led into the first corner, starting on dry tyres. Front row starter Andreas Bakkerud continued his run of podium finishes in second, and Sweden’s Johan Kristoffersson was third – scoring his and the Volkswagen RX Sweden team’s first podium of the year. 

Heikkinen was fourth, while Norway’s Petter Solberg, who had been TQ (top qualifier) at the Intermediate Classification dropped from pole position to sixth on lap one and then battled with Sweden’s Anton Marklund at the rear of the field, Marklund suffering from brake problems on the final lap allowing Solberg to take fifth. After the finish line, Marklund was unable to stop and hit the rear of Solberg’s car as the championship leader was slowing down, but both drivers were unhurt. Sweden’s Mattias Ekstrom lost the championship lead to Solberg after the EKS driver was slowed in his semi-final with damaged front suspension. 

Find the official preview to Canada RX here. 


Share this story on facebook Share this story on Twitter