Norway’s Petter Solberg led a PSRX Volkswagen Sweden top two lock-out in Q1 at the fifth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship at Lydden Hill. 

Solberg led his team mate Johan Kristoffersson for the four laps of their Q1 race to set the fastest time, two seconds fastest than Championship leader Mattias Ekstrom, who won the first race of Q1 ahead of Hoonigan Racing Division’s Andreas Bakkerud to be third overall. Norway’s Bakkerud is fourth. Sweden’s Timmy Hansen was second in the third race of Q1 but was fifth overall because Latvia’s Reinis Nitiss, who won the race but didn’t take his joker lap and received a 30-second penalty. 

America’s Ken Block was sixth overall. Former World RX podium finisher Andrew Jordan passed Ireland’s Ollie O’Donovan on lap one of race three and followed Nitiss for the four laps to be 10th overall, behind his MJP Racing Team Austria team mate, Kevin Eriksson and EKS’ Topi Heikkinen. Finland’s Niclas Gronholm rolled his Ford Fiesta Supercar on the third lap of the first race of the weekend and retired, the GRX team are working hard in the paddock to try and repair the car ahead of Q2. 

Find full Q1 results here.


Share this story on facebook Share this story on Twitter