Supporting the opening round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship last weekend in Barcelona was the inaugural 2017 event for the FIA European Rallycross TouringCar Championship, and it was Sweden’s Philip Gehrman who claimed victory. 

Starting on the front row for the final, Gehrman led on lap one and took his joker on lap five to score victory. Norway’s Petter Brauten climbed from the third row of the grid at the start of the final to be second to Gehrman at the first corner, where he would also be at the finish in his Opel Corsa, following a close fight with Norway’s Per-Magne Royras, who finished third in his Mazda RX8.

Norway’s David Nordgard was the last driver to take his joker in the final on lap six, and finished fourth, ahead of compatriots Anders Braten and Kjetil Larsen, the sixth placed driver spinning on the exit of the final corner.

Former TouringCar Champion Lars-Oivind Enerberg was twice fastest in the qualifying races to be Top Qualifier in the Intermediate Classification, but retired while leading the first semi-final with a broken propshaft. Reigning Champion Ben-Philip Gundersen’s event was over before it had begun after his Ford Fiesta wasn’t permitted to start, due to a problem in scrutineering.

Find full results here.


Share this story on facebook Share this story on Twitter