The FIA European Rallycross Championship for Supercar is set for one of its most competitive seasons ever in 2017, with 29 drivers permanent drivers set to take part in each of the five rounds in Barcelona, Norway, Sweden, France and Latvia, plus additional round-by-round entries. 

Reigning Champion Kevin Hansen has moved up to race in the FIA World Rallycross Championship for 2017, but there are a host of former European Champions and Euro RX event winners entered to challenge for the title this season in the quality field. 

Sweden’s Robin Larsson and Norway’s Tommy Rustad have both previously won the Euro RX Supercar title, in 2014 and 2015, and both will start among the favourites for this year driving an Audi A1 and Peugeot 208. Norway’s Alexander Hvaal, who has signed for Hedstroms Motorsport for this season, is a two-time Euro RX Supercar race winner and will drive a Volkswagen Polo as team mate to former Swedish champion Peter Hedstrom and his younger brother Joaquim Hvaal, who moves from RX2 to Supercar for 2017 in a Ford Fiesta. France’s Jerome Grosset-Janin is also a Euro RX Supercar race winner, he won the Belgian round of the Championship at Mettet in 2015 and has finished second in the points for the last two years. He switched from Albatec Racing to Team Knapick for 2017 to drive a Citroen DS3, with 2016 Finnish Rallycross Champion Jere Kalliokoski moving to Albatec to join Rustad in a Peugeot 208 

Marklund Motorsport, the team that Rustad drove with in 2015 when he claimed the title, will run a pair of Volkswagen Polo Supercars for former EuroRX TouringCar Champion and World RX podium finisher Anton Marklund, and TouringCar race winner Magda Andersson this season. Tamas Pal Kiss finished on the podium in Euro RX events last year after moving from single-seater racing. The 2016 Hungarian Rallycross Champion will again compete in a Peugeot 208, with his compatriot, former autocross race winner Tamas Karai again committing to a full campaign in his Audi A1. Ireland’s Derek Tohill and Belgium’s MDK are both former Euro RX TouringCar Champions. Tohill claimed the title in 2010 and 2013, while MDK has won European Championships in both the front-wheel drive Super1600 category and rear-wheel drive TouringCar, which at the time was called the ‘RX Cup’.  Both drivers will race Ford Fiestas this season, run by their own teams. 

Also racing Ford Fiestas will be RX2 race winner and RallyX Nordic Supercar Lites Champion Thomas Bryntesson and former Scandinavian Supernational racer Ola Froshaug, who will line up in a pair of ex-OlsbergsMSE Ford Fiestas for the JC Raceteknik team. Also racing ex-OMSE Fiestas in 2017 are Poland’s Martin Kaczmarski, who returns for a second season, and Sweden’s Mats Ohman, who is a regular podium finisher in Scandinavian rallycross and is one of the true heroes of the sport, racing in Euro RX despite being paralysed from the waist down. Ireland’s Ollie O’Donovan will race his own Ford Fiesta in the full season, and is set to race at the World RX finale in South Africa too, while Estonian Rallycross Championship race winner Andri Oun will race a Reinsalu Sport built Fiesta in the five-round Euro RX Championship. 

World Rallycross Championship regular Rene Muennich is set to race a Muennich Motorsport Seat Ibiza Supercar in Euro RX, while his partner, Germany’s Mandie August will race one of the team’s 2015-spec Audi S3 World RX Supercars. Both drivers have previously won rounds of the German Rallycross Championship in Supercar. Another German driver, Andreas Steffen, will return to Euro RX this season having moved from Super1600 to Supercar last year with an ex-Jos Kuypers Ford Fiesta. 

Former Euro RX Super1600 race winner Andrea Dubourg graduated to Supercar in the French Rallycross Championship last year and won events, he will race a Citroen DS3 for the DA Racing team in Euro RX this season. Tom Daniel Taanevik has previously won in Euro RX TouringCar and will continue to race his ex-Tommy Rustad Volvo C30 Supercar this year. Former Supernational driver Ole Kristian Temte will also return in his Citroen C4, and Tore Kristoffersson, who lives near the Hell circuit in Norway has switched his Ford Fiesta for an ex-Mats Ohman Citroen DS3 for 2017. 

Estonia’s Mart Tikkerbar will make his first Euro RX start in Barcelona later this month in a Ford Fiesta, having previously won events in the North European Zone Championship, and France’s Patrick Guillerme will also compete in the full Championship in an ex-Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 208. Finland’s Riku Tahko has worked on the re-development of his Mini RX over the winter and will begin his third Euro RX season this year. 

The full list can be viewed here.


Share this story on facebook Share this story on Twitter